Standing in solidarity with Mi’maq relatives


This morning when I woke I did my usual, drank a glass of kuus or too (water) and practiced. As I got the blood circulating I started scrolling through Twitter and found news posted by Indigenous Nationhood Movement.

As I continued to read through more tweets, the news spread like a wildfire. The tweets continued and it became more apparent that the protest in Mi’maq territory had become an intense stand off as photos streamed in and live footage was posted within minutes of happening that recorded guns drawn and military Royal Canadian Mounted Police advancing on Mi’maq elders, women, and children .

While mainstream media was tweeting about the US government shut down and political pundits were ranting about President Obama in meeting negotiations, Mi’maq relatives were protesting in a fight for the protection of their homelands against fracking.

As an enrolled member of a US federally recognized sovereign (NiMiiPuu) the fight to protect ancestral homelands is nothing new and a battle that will not end without Indigenous nations rising against corporate oil. If anything, what the Mi’maq warriors displayed was Indigenous resistance to continued colonialism funded by corporate oil.

Personally, I believe what we witnessed as elders, women, children, and men of the Mi’maq nation displayed the fierce spirit of their ancestors, from afar, Indigenous communities throughout Turtle Island stood in solidarity. The opportunity to educate Indigenous communities on Mi’maq resistance was essentially what long time Mohawk activist Ellen Gabriel tweeted, “its like Oka all over again.” While history was repeating itself in New Brunswick, today, teachable moments were happening one tweet at a time.

20131017-221653.jpg

I understand here in the US we as nations have different trust relationships with the US government. However, let us not forget the Indian wars did NOT end. For my nation, it’s only been 136 years since the war of 1877. Since that time we’ve lost Celilo Falls and had a stand off at Rapid River protesting federal regulations of our fishing rights. We must not become too comfortable and forget what our ancestors died fighting for, but also, know that what happened to our Mi’maq relatives could also happen to us when it comes to protecting our homelands.

20131017-232126.jpg

The time has come for Indigenous nations to rise and the resistance is strong. I stand in solidarity with our Mi’maq relatives knowing all too well, I will not become too comfortable, nor will I forget what my ancestors endured so that I may be here.

With that I close out these blog thoughts out loud. Using online social media, I am sending out into the universe my thoughts and prayers tonight to the Mi’maq nation and their Warrior Society out on the front lines. Prayers for their safety, protection, fierceness, spirit, and love of their nation, I stand in solidarity with you as I know you would do the same for me and the many other nations fighting colonial powers.

Imeeqis qeciyewyew

Leave a Reply

