A Change Gone Come


A Change Gone Come

Sam Cooke sang it like no other when he sang, “It’s been a long time coming, but a change’s gone come”… I can’t imagine how painful and difficult a time it must have been during segregation.

I can share what my late grandma told me in Lapwai, Idaho, while she was growing up. She showed me where “they used to burn crosses up there and my mom always told us to never walk alone” To know my granny lived in a time when racism was prevalent on our own #Indigenous lands, I’m amazed at how proud and strong she raised her kids to be.

When I hear this song, I am filled with hope. I am also strong. I am proud. I am #Indigenous. And I know, I just know, a change gone come. I hope you can dig this song as much I do and also hear the hope in this bluesy message that someday, change is indeed going to come.

One thought on “A Change Gone Come

Leave a Reply

