working with Native youth


I’m not sure if I’ve found a calling in working with Native youth, however I am certain that working with them has definitely inspired me.

Since I posted an update, I had the privilege of working with tribal youth from the Coeur D’Alene and Nez Perce tribes. It’s been interesting to say the least.

I promised to blog more, however I haven’t dedicated much time to that, so I will give an update on a few things I’ve learned.

  1. the youth I worked with love Wiz Khalifa
  2. youth aged 11-13 use words like sexy and dress older than they are… I think this is the new or modern world we live in.
  3. drugs and alcohol are available to these kids
  4. when teaching culturally relevant subjects, Native youth really do know more than they claim… they need and like a lil time when answering
  5. most of the youth did not know about the boarding school experience of their ancestors
  6. the youth dig Native history, especially their own tribal histories
  7. these kids (although labeled “at-risk”) use critical thinking skills, they don’t express or use technical terms we use in academia… their blunt and unfiltered nature is a contradiction… I appreciate it, yet wish it was polished
  8. I taught a communications class, students were aware of non verbal cues… somehow I was surprised?? go figure
  9. when challenged, students perform exceptionally well ESPECIALLY when you tell them what your expectations are
  10.  I’m defining some research questions <—- a work in progress

With an upcoming travel that includes planning for the national NIEA convention in October and a west coast trip to the NW Coastal Canoe Journey I’m certain I will have more updates soon.

 

2 thoughts on “working with Native youth

Leave a Reply

